Kerala Road Safety Authority Act-2007 (8 of 2007) was promulgated by Notification No.2622/Leg.Uni.2/07/Law dated 13th April 2007 providing for Constitution of Kerala Road Safety Authority and the Road Safety Fund. As per G.O(P) No. 20/07/Tran dated 19-04-2007 (published as per SRO No. 355/2007 in the Kerala Gazette extra ordinary dated 19-04-2007)issued under Section 3 of the Act Kerala Road Safety Authority has been constituted. The Authority has been set up top co-ordinate action on areas related to Road Safety among various departments in government, advice Government on road Safety Policy, prescribing and enforcing Road Safety standards and procedures, formulate and implement schemes, projects and programmes relating to Road Safety promote Road safety awareness, co-ordinating the functions of all the agencies and Government Departments discharging the duties related to Road Safety etc. Based on the above, Government as per G.O(P) No. 55/07/tran dated 26-12-2007 (published as per SRO No. 1082/2007 in the Kerala Gazette extra ordinary dated 26-12-2007) framed Rules as laid down in Section 38 of the said Act. The Authority was formally inaugurated by Shri. V.S. Achuthananthan, Hon. Chief Minister of Kerala on 01-01-2008, at Town Hall, Thrissur, in the presence of Shri. Mathew T Thomas, Hon. Minister for Transport, Shri. Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, Hon. Minister for Home. Shri. Mons Joseph, Hon. Minister for Works, Shri. K P Rajendran, Hon. Minister for Revenue, Shri. N K Premachandran Hon. Minister for Water Resources, Shri. K.Radhakrishnan, Hon.Speaker, Kerala Legislative Assembly, etc.

The authority consists of the following members, namely:-

(a)    The Minister for Transport-Chairman of the Authority
(b)    The Minister for Works-Vice Chairman of the Authority
(c)    The Chief Secretary
(d)    The Principal Secretary, Transport Department
(e)    The Law Secretary
(f)     The Principal Secretary, Home Department
(g)    The Principal Secretary, Finance Department
(h)    The Principal Secretary, Public Works Department
(i)     The Principal Secretary, H&FWD
(j)     The Principal Secretary, GED
(k)    The Principal Secretary, LSGD
(l)     The Road Safety Commissioner – Chief Executive Officer of the Authority
(m)   The Director General of Police
(n)    The Director, Health Service Department
(o)    The Inspector General of Police (Traffic)
(p)    The Chief Engineer (Roads & Bridges)
(q)    The Chief Engineer (NH)
(r)     The Director, NATPAC
(s)     The Secretary, State Transport Authority
(t)     3 persons who are experts in the field of Road Safety nominated by the Government.

Shri. Mathew T Thomas, Hon. Minister for Transport and Shri. Mons Joseph, Hon. Minister for Works have held the posts of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Authority. Shri. Ramesh Chandrabhanu, IPS and Shri. S Ananthakrishnan, IPS have held the post of Road safety Commissioner.







free templates joomla